Break in transmission

Whoops. It really has been too long, hasn’t it? I’ve just been tidying up the blog which had got a little overrun of late with Delicious links, and had to face the reality that it’s been over a month since my last blog post proper.

No big excuses, I’ve just been very busy of late and not had the energy or inspiration to come up with a decent post in the last few weeks.

It’s different over on the motorsport version of this blog where I’ve been happily producing two or three posts a week, because the source material – the race – is whatever is schedule for that week and all I have to do is turn up and write what happened. Also, the nature of the deadline helps – with a motorsports news blog, if you don’t write the piece within 24 hours you may as well not bother. Whereas with an ordinary blog … Well, what difference does an extra day make? Or two? Or – before you know it – 33.

Well anyway, I’ll try and do better and come up with a post or two for this, my “proper” blog over the next week or so. Although my current excuse is that I’ve got a headcold (no, it’s definitely not swine-related!) and am probably going to prevaricate and delay a while longer yet before doing a proper post.

So in the meantime, a couple of bullet points for you to keep things ticking over:

  • If you haven’t found it already, check out COI’s Digigov blog, by the team behind the Transformational Government guidance for public sector websites. It’s incredibly well done, looks wonderful, and I reckon the whole team deserve a huge round of applause for breaking new ground for COI in social media.
  • In the ‘entertainment news’ category – if you haven’t been able to catch “True Blood” so far on FX then keep an eye out for it on Channel 4 in the coming weeks. I’ve found this to be the most startlingly original show on TV this year – but word of warning, don’t watch if you’re offended by incredibly strong language and even stronger sex scenes. Or vampires. But if you’re okay with that then this is the most deliciously laugh-out-loud black comedy-drama I think I’ve ever seen. Recommended.

And now I have to go – a training day awaits.

  1. naz

    True Blood is good (although Eric in season 2 is more entertaining than the Sucky/Bill melodrama) but I don’t know if it’s the ‘most deliciously laugh-out-loud black comedy-drama’ ever. Have you seen It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia? Or even Leverage?

    I’ll let you have ‘the most deliciously laugh-out-loud black comedy-drama with fangs’ though…

  2. andrewlewin

    Wow! Hiya Naz, how lovely to see you and hear from you again after so long! How the devil are you?!

    And how are you seeing S2 already? Bittorrenting again? I’m just making do with standard cable so it’ll be a while before I get to see Eric ‘flourish’. I do agree with you that Bill is the weakest and wettest part of the show but I guess I’m just not the target demographic for that strand. Sookie’s quite delightful tho’.

    Nope, not seen “It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia” or “Leverage”, don’t even remember them being on in the UK – but so many TV shows, so little time these days …




Leave a Reply

