Just resting

So it looks like the election really will be called tomorrow morning, and the politicians of all hues will be unleashed for a month on the hustings. It should prove to be a fascinating election for anyone even slightly interested in politics, and it’s been a very long time since the outcome is quite so uncertain going in and when every single vote really mattered.

I’m reminded of a scene from The West Wing (that incredible, smart, inspirational TV programme) in which a campaign organiser is presented with a child’s placard reading:

“It doesn’t matter who you vote for. Make sure you vote”

to which the campaign organiser (a character called Will) responds with

“I like the sentiment, but the thing is, I think it does matter who you vote for.

What if it said, ‘No matter who you vote for, make sure you vote.’ What do you think?”

– which I think is a lovely, subtle and fine difference and sentiment.

And with that thought, and with the assumption that the election really is called in the morning, I’m shutting down posting anything here for the duration. That’s for reasons already described in wonderful and accurate detail by a former colleague of mine, Steph Gray, back at the start of February. Although my blog doesn’t often stray into work issues and even less often into anything like politics, it’s still better safe than sorry – as Steph so brilliantly explains. That said, I’ll chance posting motorsport race reports over in the companion blog. Even general elections can’t impede the march of Formula 1 Grands Prix after all! But as for this general blog, well – at least I got my thoughts on the new Dr Who posted here before the curtain came down for the interval.

Of course, you’d be quite justified in saying “So you’re not posting anything for a month? Isn’t that business as usual?” to which I would have no defence, having been very poor at times about keeping up regular contributions. But at least this time I have a genuine, grade-A excuse for dereliction of posting duty, and so I’m going to invoke it for all its worth and put my feet up with a cup of tea to watch the election unfold in the meantime.

So that’s me done for now. See you on the other side.

  1. 1 Babel falls silent | Public Strategist

    […] have decided that in their personal social media presences, they should observe the election silence.  That is an entirely honourable and respectable […]






